UPC: 30206718621
Regular price$ 13.98
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Show Boat (1959 cast album) is a studio recording of the 1927 musical Show Boat by Jerome Kern and Oscar Hammerstein II.

Show Boat is probably one of the most famous musical shows of all-time.

The album features a stellar cast that was formed especially for this recording, and features the debut recordings made by Shirley Bassey. Here she performs two songs in the role of Julie LaVerne.

The score is rich with a half-dozen memorable songs, including “Make Believe,” “Can't Help Lovin' Dat Man,” “You Are Love,” “Life Upon the Wicked Stage,” “Bill,” and the stunning “Ol’ Man River.”

Show Boat is widely regarded as the first truly great American musical.


1. Overture • Michael Collins and His Orchestra, and the Williams Singers (6:12)
2. Make Believe • Marlys Watters and Don McKay (4:44)
3. Ol' Man River • Inia Te Wiata (4:41)
4. Can't Help Lovin' Dat Man • Shirley Bassey (4:21)
5. Life Upon the Wicked Stage • Dora Bryan (3:17)
6. You are Love • Marlys Watters and Don McKay (4:49)
7. I Might Fall Back on You • Dora Bryan and Geoffrey Webb (2:09)
8. Why Do I Love You • Marlys Watters and Don McKay (2:49)
9. I Still Suits Me • Inia Te Wiata and Isabelle Lucas (3:15)
10. Bill • Shirley Bassey (3:24)
11. Finale • Dora Bryan, Marlys Watters and Don McKay (4:01)

Recently viewed