Serenity (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack - Deluxe Edition 2CD) +  Pleasantville (Original Motion Picture Score - Deluxe Edition CD) BUNDLE

Serenity (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack - Deluxe Edition 2CD) + Pleasantville (Original Motion Picture Score - Deluxe Edition CD) BUNDLE

Release Date: December 15, 2023
Regular price$ 40.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Serenity Bio:
Serenity (2005) was the feature film sequel of Joss Whedon’s short-lived space-western TV series, Firefly (2002–03). When fans lamented the loss of the canceled show, Universal rescued the titular spaceship and its charismatic crew (including Nathan Fillion, Morena Baccarin and Alan Tudyk) for a big-screen adventure written and directed by Whedon.

Scoring Serenity was David Newman, whose vast and diverse filmography lent him well-prepared for anything the film might throw at him. From worldbuilding to character comedy to harrowing action, the score runs the gamut—but always hews to a sense of family and “home” for the Serenity and her offbeat crew. Solo cello and folksy percussion are found alongside eerie “ethnic” approaches, which turn dark and brutal for the barbaric villains, the Reavers, as the film explores their secret origin. But Newman balances the weirdness with familiar, dramatic orchestral scoring, ultimately creating an eclectic tapestry for Whedon’s unique vision.

Pleasantville Bio:
Pleasantville (1998) was a high-concept fantasy-comedy about high-school siblings (Tobey Maguire and Reese Witherspoon) transported into an idyllic, black-and-white 1950s Leave It to Beaver-type TV show. In the hands of writer/director Gary Ross, the film is more than just a fish-out-of-water tale with dazzling VFX—it is a touching character study and potent Civil Rights allegory that received critical acclaim and is fondly remembered today.

Scoring Pleasantville was a master of Americana, humor and symphonic scoring, Randy Newman. Newman had cheeky fun with the show-within-the-film’s old-school traditions, but just as the story blossoms into a heartfelt tale of emotional awakening—with a beautiful performance by Joan Allen as a repressed mother—so does the gorgeous score.

“Randy is unique in the fact that he can write with a depth of emotion, and he’s also an accomplished satirist,” says Gary Ross in the new liner notes by Tim Greiving. “He could write to the vernacular of what the movie was, but not be limited by it. That’s what the film is trying to do, and it really needs someone who can understand the breadth of those intentions... I’ve never been happier with any score, on any movie.”

Serenity Feat:
Varèse Sarabande’s 2005 soundtrack CD for Serenity was released as a 23-track, 50-minute program. This Deluxe Edition expands the album into a 2CD set, with 54 tracks featuring 90 minutes of prime David Newman sci-fi action, adventure, and emotion, as chronicled in new liner notes by Daniel Schweiger.

Pleasantville Feat:
Varèse Sarabande released Pleasantville’s score album in 1998 as a 17-track, 31-minute edition. As the film celebrates its 25th anniversary, this Deluxe Edition features an expanded program of 34 tracks and 66 minutes.


Track Lists:

1 Opening/Intro To River 3:11
2 Escape 1:30
3 The Operative 0:49
4 Death Of Mathias 3:12
5 Serenity 0:50
6 Going For A Ride 2:24
7 Trading Station Robbery 3:08
8 Reaver Chase 3:41
9 Pop Goes The Reaver 0:15
10 They Never Lie Down 0:39
11 Mal Reminices 1:25
12 Transition 1:23
13 Maidenhead Bar 2:14
14 River Goes Wild 1:28
15 Mal Takes River In 1:04
16 River’s Eyes 0:12
17 Mal’s Decision 0:45
18 Mr. Universe 0:28
19 Subliminal Message 1:08
20 River & Simon In Locker 0:55
21 Haven Guitar 1:01
22 Come At You Sideways 1:26
23 School Flashback 0:35
24 Mal & Inara 0:28
25 Flight To Training House 0:57
26 Training House Fight 1:57
27 Escape From Training House 0:56
28 School Flashback/Miranda 1:37
29 River Gets Out 2:08
30 River Shows Mal & Miranda 0:29
31 Haven Destroyed 0:54
32 Shepherd Book’s Last Words 1:00
33 Warn Everyone We Know 0:36
34 You’re Not A Reaver 0:57

1 Mal Decides 3:09
2 Population Dead 3:55
3 Truth/Mal’s Speech 3:36
4 Universe Gets It 1:17
5 Space Battle 3:21
6 Crash Landing 1:59
7 Wash Killed/Run To Black Room 2:55
8 Mr. Universe Dead 2:28
9 Generator Room 3:06
10 Mal & OP Fight 2:11
11 Simon Shot/River Runs 1:57
12 Jayne & Zoe/Final Battle 2:44
13 Broadcast Beams/River Is Alive 1:39
14 Funeral/Rebuilding Serenity 2:19
15 Prep For Flight 1:33
16 Love/Serenity 1:06
17 Serenity End Credits Pt. 1 1:38
18 Serenity End Credits Pt. 2 2:03
19 Serenity End Credits Pt. 3 0:43


1. The Pleasantville Theme 
2. Get Ready* 
3. New TV Remote And The Fight*
4. We’re Stuck (The Breakfast Scene)* 
5. School And Basketball* 
6. Mr. Johnson And Missed Shots* 
7. In The Bath 
8. Bud’s A Hero 
9. Make-Up
10. The Art Book 
11. Real Rain (Extended Version)** 
12. Let’s Go Bowling 
13. Together 
14. Waking Up
15. No Umbrellas (Extended Version)**
16. Nude Painting*
17. Punch
18. Burning The Books 
19. The Aftermath (Extended Version)**
20. Mural 
21. A New Day 
22. Goodbye 
23. Pleasantville Bumper* 
24. The Sweater 

Additional Music:
25. Make-Up (Film Version)* 
26. The Art Book (Alternate)* 
27. Together (Film Version)* 
28. No Umbrellas (Alternate)* 
29. The Aftermath (Alternate)* 
30. Mural (Film Version)* 
31.  A New Day (Alternate)* 
32. A New Bus (Film Construct)* 
33. Pleasantville Theme Play-Off* 
34. Pleasantville End Credits Suite* 

* Previously unreleased
** Contains previously unreleased material

Recently viewed