Of Mind And Music (CD)

Of Mind And Music (CD)

UPC: 30206423327
Regular price$ 15.98
Shipping calculated at checkout.

“With its overall effect further enhanced by superb cinematography and gorgeous musical score, OF MIND AND MUSIC is a quiet gem.” – Hollywood Reporter

Varèse Sarabande announces a Limited Edition CD for OF MIND AND MUSICOriginal Soundtrack. The album features the original music composed by Carlos José Alvarez (EXPOSED, THE QUIET HOUR), with songs (“Eye on the Sparrow”, “Avalon”, “Make Me A Pallet”, “Basin Street Blues’, “After You’ve Gone”) performed by Mykia Jovan and the classic hymn “Will The Circle Be Unbroken” performed by Bill Cobbs.

“Our main character Una Vida is a street musician with a mysterious past who suffers from Alzheimer’s and dementia,” said composer Alvarez.  “I think the most challenging aspect of the score were the moments when she would go adrift and lose herself.”

OF MIND AND MUSIC is a story about a beautiful street musician suffering from memory loss and a disheartened neuroscientist intent on helping her, bringing together the city of New Orleans and the jazz that made it famous.

“Una Vida’s appearances are very intense moments in the film.  The score needed to pull us into her mind and somehow help us to experience that shift happening,” Alvarez described. “We can’t pretend to know what that must be like and how scary that must be, but the director Richie Adams was very clear on how he wanted to feel experiencing those moments with her.  He is a director who is very in tune with his gut and knows when something is working for him.”

Carlos José Alvarez is a Cuban-American composer, arranger, songwriter and producer known for his moody, emotional scores. The emerging composer has also contributed music to numerous feature films including Academy and Golden Globe Award-winning drama Still Alice and The Last of Robin Hood. Some of his other scores include sci-fi thriller The Quiet Hour, DEADLINE (starring Brittany Murphy and Thora Birch) and the critically acclaimed documentary Cubamerican.

Limited Edition of 1000 copies


1. Of Mind and Music (4:31)
2. Eye On The Sparrow* (1:34)
3. Dreams and Grieving (1:43)
4. Avalon* (1:32)
5. Make Me a Pallet* (1:10)
6. Brighter Days Ahead (1:27)
7. Washington Park Incident (2:24)
8. Visiting Stompleg (1:45)
9. Motherless Child* (:59)
10. Visions of Mamá (1:26)
11. Satchel Mouth (1:48)
12. Questions of Science (:46)
13. Art Gallery (1:01)
14. Cornstalk Inn (1:29)
15. Up At Night (3:17)
16. Sam and the Firefly (1:21)
17. Searching for Una Vida (1:51)
18. Can You Help Her Doc? (1:27)
19. Basin Street Blues* (1:35)
20. That Lonesome Valley (2:47)
21. Back to Jessica’s (:54)
22. Because I Can (2:42)
23. Are You My Sister? (1:47)
24. Losing Sam (2:38)
25. She Has a Son (1:22)
26. After You’ve Gone* (3:59)
27. Reunion (3:40)
28. Redemption (2:42)
29. Will The Circle Be Unbroken† (3:52)

Music Composed and Conducted by
*Vocal by Mykia Jovan
†Vocal by Bill Cobbs



Recently viewed