Iron Giant, The: The Deluxe Edition (CD)

Iron Giant, The: The Deluxe Edition (CD)

UPC: 888072415645
Regular price$ 19.98
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The Iron Giant (1999) is a modern classic, an animated film directed by Brad Bird (The Incredibles, Mission: Impossible—Ghost Protocol) about a young boy who befriends a giant alien robot during the Sputnik era of the Cold War. Based on the 1968 book The Iron Man by poet Ted Hughes, the film is a marvel of heartfelt storytelling, with timeless themes of friendship, caring and self-determination.

Creating the Iron Giant’s beautiful, sympathetic score was Michael Kamen—one of his last major scores and his first animated film, miles away from the action blockbusters for which he had become known, but much closer to his heart. Kamen’s gorgeous score is full of melody, humor and sensitivity, grandly performed by the Czech Philharmonic. It scales as big as the threat of nuclear annihilation, and as intimate as the goodness that connects nine-year-old Hogarth Hughes to the alien machine—who decides he would rather be “Superman” than a weapon.

Varèse Sarabande released Kamen’s The Iron Giant score as a 49-minute program in 1999. This Deluxe Edition fills an entire CD, with a 64-minute score program plus 13 minutes of alternates, outtakes and rare demos—including a piano-and-guitar attempt at an unrealized song, “Souls Don’t Die,” based on Kamen’s theme, performed by Kamen and Eric Clapton. Tim Greiving’s new liner notes feature new interview material with director Brad Bird, music editor Christopher Brooks and orchestrator Blake Neely, going deep into Kamen’s working process and their adoration for the gifted, late composer.

Limited to 2000 copies


  1. The Eye Of The Storm
  2. Hogarth Hughes
  3. Creepy Music / Hogarth Investigates
  4. Into The Forest
  5. The Giant Wakes
  6. Hogarth In Car / Sting For FBI Man: Suite
  7. Come And Get It
  8. Shut Off Switch / Rock Tree: Suite
  9. Cat And Mouse
  10. Train Wreck
  11. Magic Rebuild / Hand Underfoot: Suite
  12. Chew Your Food
  13. Amerika
  14. Great Ride
  15. We Gotta Hide
  16. His Name Is Dean
  17. He Can Stay
  18. Eating Art
  19. Space Car
  20. Souls Don't Die
  21. Contest Of Wills
  22. The Army Arrives
  23. Annie And Dean
  24. I'm Superman
  25. He's A Weapon
  26. Giant Discovered
  27. Trance Former
  28. No Following
  29. The Last Giant Piece
  30. End Credits: Suite
  31. Bedtime Stories
  32. Wild Tam-Tam
  33. Chew Your Food Pickup
  34. Duck And Cover
  35. Early Demo #1
  36. Early Demo #2
  37. Souls Don’t Die

Recently viewed